SNU NOW / Newsroom


Newsroom /


Prof. Kwon and Ihm Won "2007 Most Outstanding Korean Scientist and Engineer Awards"

Apr 30, 2007

Kwon Wook-hyeon, Professor of Electrical Egineering, and Ihm Ji-soon, Professor of Physics, at Seoul National University have been selected as the winners of the 2007 Most Outstanding Korean Scientist and Engineer Awards.

The Ministry of Science and Technology (MOST) and the Korean Federation of Science and Technology Societies announced Thursday the prize winners of the presidential awards who will all receive 300 million won ($315,000).

The awards, known as the most prestigious awards in Korean scientific circles, were established in 2003 by enlarging the Korea Scientific Technique Awards launched in 1968.

Kwon, an internationally renowned scholar in the area of system control for the invention of the concept of “Receding Horizon Control,” will receive the award in recognition of distributing relevant technologies by writing textbooks that have systematically organized theories in English.

In addition, Kwon was also commended for his contribution in helping his students start up venture companies by providing the technologies he developed for free. He encouraged his students to launch their own businesses based on practical technologies. His research lab has been the cradle of 12 venture startups, including Humax, a set-top box manufacturer.

“The most rewarding part has been helping my students launch their own businesses by pursuing both theories and applications,” Kwon said.

Ihm will receive the award in recognition of achieving a breakthrough in research on carbon nanotubes and hydrogen storage materials by pioneering the new area of “Computational Solid State Physics,” a formula to calculate the total energy of solids.

“When Korea was hit by the financial crisis, I gave my future much thought and decided to focus on integrating fundamental science with applied science. I think this can be attributed to my receiving such a great award,” Ihm said.

Meanwhile, MOST also announced 79 scientists would receive certificates of commendation ahead of Korea’s 40th Science Day, April 21.

Shin Seong-cheol, a professor at the Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology, Han Min-gu, professor at Seoul National University, and Kim In-se, president of Pusan National University will receive “Innovation Master Medals,” the highest order of Korea’s Science and Technology Merit Award.
The award ceremony will take place on Friday at the Korea Institute of Science and Technology in Seoul.

April 20, 2007
SNU PR Office