Move to content body Move to content menus


  • home
  • sitemap
  • korean




Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees is the highest decision-making body of the University. It is composed of seven Trustees who are inside members of SNU, and eight Trustees who are independent members. The Chairperson is elected by the Board of Trustees from among its members.

The Board of Trustees makes decisions on the following matters:
  • Matters relating to appointment of the President
  • Matters relating to appointment and dismissal of officers
  • Matters relating to Annual Operation Plan
  • Matters relating to budget and settlement of accounts
  • Matters relating to acquisition, disposition, and management of important properties
  • Matters relating to establishment or abolition of colleges or graduate schools
  • Matters relating to establishment or abolition of major administrative organizations
  • Matters relating to mid- and long-term operation and development of the university
  • Matters relating to amendment of the Articles of Incorporation
  • Matters relating to enactment, amendment, and abolition of the University Regulations and regulations pertaining to the University Council, the President Recommendation Committee, the University Committee on Academic Affairs, and the University Committee on Financial Affairs
  • Matters relating to establishment and management of the development fund of the university
  • Matters relating to issuance of long-term loans and university bonds
  • Matters requiring the Board of Trustees’ decision in accordance with the Act, the Articles of Incorporation, or other regulations
  • Other matters that the Board of Trustees deems necessary


  • LEE Hong Hoon, former Supreme Court Justice


  • CHOI Chang-Won, CEO of SK Chemicals Co. Ltd.
  • CHUNG Chinsung, SNU Professor, College of Social Sciences
  • JEON Soo-an, former Supreme Court Justice
  • LEE Joon Koo, SNU Professor Emeritus, College of Social Sciences
  • LIM Hong Bae, SNU Professor, College of Humanities
  • KIM Byoung Chul, former President of Korea University
  • KIM Yong Jin, Vice Minister II, Ministry of Strategy and Finance
  • PARK Chan Wook, Vice President of Academic Affairs, Seoul National University
  • PARK Chun Ran, Vice Minister, Ministry of Education
  • PARK Yong-maan, CEO of Doosan Infracore
  • ROE Jung Hye, SNU Professor, College of Natural Sciences
  • SHIN Hee Young, Vice President of Research
  • YANG Il Sun, former Provost of Yonsei University
Last updated in 2018