About SNU / SNU Awards

Distinguished SNU Members

SNU Awards /

Distinguished SNU Members

Seoul National University honors the people who made distinguished achievements in their lives with the Distinguished SNU Members Award. It has been the highest honor bestowed upon SNU alumni or faculty since 1991. The award is granted annually on the founding anniversary of the university during the official anniversary ceremony.

KWON Oh-hyun/CEO of Samsung Electronics

KWON Oh-hyun(class of 1975, Electronic Engineering) is one of the leading engineer in the Korean semiconductor business. He was the principal investigator when Samsung developed the world's first 64 DRAM in 1992, and later served as CEO and vice-chairman of the company.

SONG Sang-hyun/President of the International Criminal Court

SONG Sang-hyun(class of 1963, Law) was one of the first judges when the International Criminal Court(ICC) was created in 2003. He was elected as the second president of the ICC in 2009 and served for six years as the strong advocate of war crime victims.

YI Chong-jun/Novelist

YI Chong-jun(1939-2008, class of 1966, German Language and Literature) was a prominent writer who authored more than 100 novels including 'The Walls of Rumor'(1972), 'This Paradise of Yours'(1976), and 'Seopyeonje'(1993).

Last updated in 2018