About SNU / SNU Awards

Distinguished SNU Members

SNU Awards /

Distinguished SNU Members

Seoul National University honors the people who made distinguished achievements in their lives with the Distinguished SNU Members Award. It has been the highest honor bestowed upon SNU alumni or faculty since 1991. The award is granted annually on the founding anniversary of the university during the official anniversary ceremony.

CHU Joong-gwang/Distinguished Research Professor Emeritus, University of Georgia
Founder of CHU Family Foundation

Chu is a world class scholar in the field of manufacturing pharmacy. He developed the medications Revovir to combat the Hepatitis B virus, and Sovaldi to fight the Hepatitis C virus, thus alleviating suffering for many hepatitis patients. He created the Chu Family Foundation and supported students and researchers.

HAN In-Kyu/President of Korean Academy of Science and Technology
Professor Emeritus, Seoul National University
Founder of Han's Scholarship Foundation

Han is the pioneer in animal husbandry in Korea. As an agriculture professor of SNU, Han conducted research on feed science and developed the field to the global standard.

KIM Myung-ja/Minister of Environment

Kim served as the 7th Minister of Environment, to become the longest serving female minister in the constitutional history of Korea. Under her leadership, the Ministry of Environment received the Presidential Award for Excellence in Government Administrative Performance for two consecutive years.

LEE Song-hee/President of World Christian Nursing Foundation

Song served in the army nurse during the Korean War and received the Hwarang Order of Military Merit Medal twice. She made a significant contribution to the cultivation of human resources in nursing and public health in Korea and other developing countries.

SON Il-geun/Journalist
senior staff of SNU Alumni Association

Graduated from SNU Law, Son had worked in journalism for almost 50 years. He has served his alma mater as a senior member of SNU Alumni Association for 35 years since 1980.

Last updated in 2018