About SNU / SNU Awards

Distinguished SNU Members

SNU Awards /

Distinguished SNU Members

Seoul National University honors the people who made distinguished achievements in their lives with the Distinguished SNU Members Award. It has been the highest honor bestowed upon SNU alumni or faculty since 1991. The award is granted annually on the founding anniversary of the university during the official anniversary ceremony.

LEE Ho-Wang/Virologist

Doctor Lee first discovered the pathogen of Hantavirus hemorrhagic fever with renal syndrome in 1976 which had threatened thousands of lives. He made the vaccine in 1988.

PARK Maeng-Ho/Founding CEO of Minumsa Publishing Group

Park established Minumsa in 1966 and had more than 2,000 humanities books published for 35 years, creating new market for humanities

SON Kil Seung/Chairman of SK Group

Chairman Son set a model of corporate social responsibility in Korea while he was running the SK Group. He established the corporate foundation and granted a large amount of scholarships and research funds.

Last updated in 2018