Move to content body Move to content menus


  • home
  • sitemap
  • korean


SNU Awards

Distinguished SNU Members

Seoul National University honors the people who made distinguished achievements in their lives with the Distinguished SNU Members Award. It has been the highest honor bestowed upon SNU alumni or faculty since 1991. The award is granted annually on the founding anniversary of the university during the official anniversary ceremony.


  • Hwang, Chang-Gyu

    Hwang, Chang-Gyu

    CEO of Semiconductor Business at Samsung Electronics

    Hwang led a dramatic transition in the semiconductor industry by presenting the "New Memory Growth Model". He established the national R&D strategy based on the highest level of expertise, and led technological development for the future of Korea.

  • Seung, Hyo-sang

    Seung, Hyo-sang

    CEO of IROJE KHM Architects

    Seung presented a new chapter in the art of architecture as an artistic architect representing the contemporary era. He was first architect to be selected as the National Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art "Artist of the Year". He acted as the coordinator of Paju Book City and the chief organizer of the Gwangju Design Biennale.

  • Shin, Young Kyun

    Shin, Young Kyun

    Founder of Shin Young Kyun Arts & Culture Foundation

    Shin was one of the movie actors who had led the golden age of Korean film in the 1960-70s. He established "SHIN Young Kyun Arts and Cultural Foundation" in 2010 and supports young film artists.

Last updated in 2016