Move to content body Move to content menus


  • home
  • sitemap
  • korean


SNU Awards

Distinguished SNU Members

Seoul National University honors the people who made distinguished achievements in their lives with the Distinguished SNU Members Award. It has been the highest honor bestowed upon SNU alumni or faculty since 1991. The award is granted annually on the founding anniversary of the university during the official anniversary ceremony.


  • KIM Jae-Soon

    KIM Jae-Soon

    Founding chief editor of Samtoh magazine

    Kim founded a literary magazine Samtoh in 1970 in which many of great literatures have been published for more than four decades.

  • KIM Sung-Hou

    KIM Sung-Hou

    Professor, UC Berkeley Department of Chemistry

    Professor Kim has promoted Seoul National University by making an academic success in major American institution as a professor.

  • KWON E-hyock

    KWON E-hyock

    The 15th President of Seoul National University

    President Kwon has contributed to the development of public health in Korea as a preventive medicine doctor, medical professor, Dean of SNU College of Medicine, and President of SNU.

  • LEE O-young

    LEE O-young


    Lee is a critic and novelist who represents the postwar generation. He was the chief editor of the first literary magazine in Korea, founder of the first semiotics institute in Korea, the manager of the opening and closing ceremonies of the 1988 Seoul Olympics, and the first minister of culture.

  • PARK Young Hee

    PARK Young Hee

    Vice Chancellor, Hochschule für Künste Bremen

    Park was the first female in the German-speaking countries to serve as the head professor of the University of the Arts Bremen and university vice chancellor. She was invited as a judge to important contemporary music concerts all over the world, thereby raising the status of Koreans and bringing prestige to Seoul National University

Last updated in 2016