Move to content body Move to content menus


  • home
  • sitemap
  • korean


SNU Awards

Distinguished SNU Members

Seoul National University honors the people who made distinguished achievements in their lives with the Distinguished SNU Members Award. It has been the highest honor bestowed upon SNU alumni or faculty since 1991. The award is granted annually on the founding anniversary of the university during the official anniversary ceremony.


  • Choh, Soon Tahk

    Choh, Soon Tahk

    Professor, Seoul National University Department of Physics

    Professor CHOH Soon Tahk (1925-1996) was the first Korean theoretical physicist who created the "Choh-Uhlenbeck Theory." The theory was the first successful generalization of the Boltzmann equation and has been the standard tool to analyze long spatial and temporal correlations until present. Professor Ernst described the theory as the "cradle of modern kinetic theory."

  • Kim, Tae-Gil

    Kim, Tae-Gil

    Professor, Seoul National University Department of Philosophy

    Professor KIM Tae-Gil (1920-2009) was a respected philosopher often addressed as the 'Teacher of Our Time' who had contributed to making the society more mature and civilized. He wrote more than 100 essays full of high-minded spirit and also popular. He served as the President of the Korean National Academy of Sciences and as Chairperson of the Korea Broadcasting System (KBS).

Last updated in 2016