Move to content body Move to content menus


  • home
  • sitemap
  • korean


SNU Awards

Distinguished SNU Members

Seoul National University honors the people who made distinguished achievements in their lives with the Distinguished SNU Members Award. It has been the highest honor bestowed upon SNU alumni or faculty since 1991. The award is granted annually on the founding anniversary of the university during the official anniversary ceremony.


  • Im, Sokche

    Im, Sokche

    Professor, Seoul National University Department of Psychology

    Professor IM Sokche (1903-1998) laid foundation of Korean folklore by collecting and studying folk music and tales in Korean community. He took the lead in founding the Korean Society for Cultural Anthropology and the Asian Comparative Folklore Society.

  • Kim, Zae-Geun

    Kim, Zae-Geun

    Professor, Seoul National University Department of Naval Architecture

    Professor KIM Zae-Geun (1920-1999) was pioneer of Korean naval architecture engineering and major contributor to the development of Korean shipbuilding industry. He established the Korean standard of ship design and restored the famous Turtle Ship (Geobukseon) in 15th century.

Last updated in 2016